Warning: explode() expects parameter 2 to be string, array given in /home/bosto113/public_html/archive/wp-includes/functions.wp-scripts.php on line 323
BDC News

Mumbai, Jan 15 (IANS)  Actor and singer Diljit Dosanjh won the Best Debut (Male) award for “Udta Punjab’ while screenwriter Ritesh Shah won the award for Best Dialogue for the highly acclaimed “Pink” at the 62nd Jio Filmfare Awards here.

Attended by most actors of the Bollywood fraternity, the iconic 62nd Jio Filmfare Awards was a star-studded event hosted by actor Shah Rukh Khan.

With four awards, Karaj Johar’s “Ae Dil Hai Mushkil” was one of the most celebrated films of the evening.

While Arijit Singh won the Best Playback (Male) for the title song of “Ae Dil Hai Mushkil”, Pritam bagged the Best Music Director and the Best Music Album. Amitabh Bhattacharya won the award for Best Lyrics for “Channa Mereya” from the same film.

After winning the award, Pritam said, “My first thanks to KJo. Without him it wouldn’t have been possible. I want to take this award home for my children.”

Neha Bhasin won the Best Playback Singer (Female) for ‘Jag Ghoomeya’ from “Sultan”. Holding her precious ‘black lady’, Neha hummed the song and said, “I would like to thank the entire team of Filmfare, you guys rock!”

The film “Kapoor and Sons” won three awards — Rishi Kapoor won The Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male); Adil Shaikh won Best Choreography for “Kar Gayi Chul”, and Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre won the Best Story and Best Screenplay for “Kapoor and Sons”.

“Cannot thank Filmfare enough for giving such a great start to our new year and we want to work harder this year,” the duo said after winning the award.

On the other hand, the much acclaimed film “Neerja” won four awards. Shabana Azmi won the Filmfare Award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female), Aparna Sud and Anna Ipe won for Best Production Design; Mitesh Munchandani won for Best Cinematography and Monisha R. Baldawa won the award for Best Editing.

Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari bagged the the Filmfare Award for Best Debut Director for her highly appreciated film “Nil Battey Sannata”, which starred Swara Bhaskar and has also been remade in Tamil.

Sooraj Pancholi and Kriti Sanon presented the Filmfare Best Debut Awards Male and Female to Diljit Dosanjh for “Udta Punjab” and Ritika Singh for “Saala Khadoos” respectively.

While Diljit sung ‘Ikk kudi’ after winning the award, Ritika said, “I’ve never acted before. For those who dont know, I am a wrestler.”

Shatrughan Sinha received the prestigious Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award presented by his daughter, actress Sonakshi Sinha.

After winning the award, the veteran actor said, “Many people feel if you get the Lifetime Achievement Award it’s the end, but I feel it’s just the beginning.”

In performances, Salman Khan danced to some of his hit songs, such as ‘O o jaane jaana’, ‘Munni badnam hui’ and ‘Sultan’. Actor Tiger Shroff grooved to hits like ‘The Pappi Song’, ‘Aa raha hoon main’ and ‘Dhoom Again’.

The Filmfare Awards 2017 live ends here with Aamir Khan’s Dangal taking home the three big awards of the night. For more update on Filmfare awards and other entertainment news follow IBTimes India.

3.15 am IST: And the best film award of the year 2016 goes to Aamir Khan’s blockbuster movie Dangal. 

3.10 am IST: Aamir Khan beats Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan to take home the best actor trophy. Aamir bags the best actor award for Dangal.

2.35 am IST: Nitesh Tiwari bags best director award for Dangal 

2.31 am IST: Alia Bhatt bags best actress in a leading role trophy for Udta Punjab.

2.19 am IST: Ram Madhvani takes home critics award for best director for the film Neerja 

2.17 am IST: Manoj Bajpayee and Shahid Kapoor take home the critics’ award for best actor for Aligarh and Udta Punjab, respectively.

1.58 am IST: Critics award for best actress goes to Sonam Kapoor for Neerja

1.54 am IST: Filmfare award for best short film (non-fiction) goes to Matitali Kusti and best short film (fiction) goes to Chutney and Filmfare Award for best people’s choice short film goes to Khamakha

1.52 am IST: Tisca Chopra bags best actress in a Short Film for Chutney and best actor award goes to Manoj Bajpayee for Taandav

1.45 am IST: The winners of the best film, best actors and best director will be announced soon; who do you think should win the award? 

1.30 am IST: Best debut director award goes toAswiniIyer for Nil Battey Sannata

1.20 am IST: Punjabi superstar Diljit Dosanjh bags best debut male award for Udta Punjab

1.18 am IST: Best debutant female award goes to Ritika Singh for Saala Khadoos

12.49 am IST: Best dialogue award goes to Ritesh Shah for Pink

12.45 am IST: Shakun Batra bags best director award for Kapoor and Sons. Best story and best screenplay award handed over to Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre Dhillon for Kapoor & Sons

12.43 am IST: Salman Khan performs on his popular songs, including O O Jaane Jaana 

12.25 am IST: And the best actor in a supporting role goes to Rishi Kapoor for Kapoor and Sons

12.15 am IST: Shabana Azmi bags best actress in a supporting role award for Neerja

11.54 pm IST: Veteran actor Shatrughan Sinha honoured with lifetime achievement award. Daughter and actress Sonakshi Sinha presents the award to father Shatrughan Sinha. 

11.46 pm IST: It’s Qawwali time. A Qawwali competition is going on between Shah Rukh, Karan and Kapil Sharma.

11.27 pm IST: Gorgeous actress Alia Bhatt, who has been nominated in the best actress category, arrives wearing a silver gown.

11.18 pm IST: Karan Johar’s Ae Dil Hai Mushkil has bagged another award. After playback singers, now music composer Pritam takes home best music album for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

11.13 pm IST: Amitabh Bhattacharya takes home the award for best lyrics for the song Channa Mereya from Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

11.08 pm IST: Arijit Singh wins the best playback singer male award for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil song from Ae Dil Hai Mushkil movie, while RD Burman award goes to singer Amit Mishra for the song Bulleya from Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

11.03 pm IST: Neha Bhasin bags best playback singer female award for Jag Ghoomeya song from Sultan movie

11.00 pm IST: Sonam Kapoor’s Neerja bags another award. Aparna Sud and Anna Ipe take home the best production design award for Neerja.

10.56 pm IST: After Alia, now its Sonakshi Sinha who has set the stage on fire. She performed on last year’s popular songs from the films Airlift and Kapoor and Sons.

10.48 pm IST: Sidharth Malhotra is looking dapper in black suit.

10.44 pm IST: Alia Bhatt shared the stage with Shah Rukh and began her performance. She paid tribute to her favourite Kareena Kapoor Khan and danced on her hit song Yeh Ishq haye from Jab We Met movie. After Kareena, she paid tribute to former Miss World Aishwarya Rai Bachchan and danced to the Nimbooda song. She also paid tributes to Sridevi, Madhuri Dixit Nene and Karishma Kapoor.

10.40 pm IST: The host of the evening Shah Rukh Khan arrives on stage and is greeted by a loud cheer. Shah Rukh performed to the song Zaalima from his upcoming film Raees and after that, he congratulated Shahid Kapoor-Mira Rajput Kapoor and Saif Ali Khan-Kareena Kapoor Khan, who welcomed their baby this year.



(This story has not been edited by BDC staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed from IANS.)

About Author - BDC TV